Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

In the case of Lambert v The Secretary of State for the Home Department UKEAT/0074/16/BA the Employment Appeal Tribunal (“EAT”) held that the Employment Tribunal had not erred in finding the reason for an employee’s dismissal was not a complaint that she had made but her ‘wilful unmanageability’.

Ms Lambert was employed by the Home Office as a presenting officer, presenting cases on behalf of the Home Office in various tribunals (including the First-Tier Immigration Tribunal). Ms Lambert submitted two complaints on 14 and 16 March 2012, arguing that any failure by the Home Office to allow her request to work at offices in Angel Square for childcare reasons would amount to race discrimination and sex discrimination. Ms Lambert’s request was refused. In the summer of 2012 Ms Lambert’s line manager, Ms Crowe, was finding Ms Lambert difficult to manage. Mr Nickell was therefore appointed to investigate the allegations against Ms Lambert and to produce a report, which he did on 15 February 2013.

On 1 May 2013 Mr Ferguson, who had succeeded Ms Crowe as Ms Lambert’s line manager, held a misconduct meeting with Ms Lambert. Mr Ferguson concluded that Ms Lambert had bullied and harassed colleagues, and that she had sent intimidating emails to colleagues. On the basis of these findings Mr Ferguson imposed a final written warning. Ms Lambert appealed against the final written warning but the  appeal was dismissed on 15 January 2014.

Ms Lambert brought claims for discrimination and victimisation in the Employment Tribunal, arguing (among other things) that she had been subjected to the detriment of the final written warning because of her complaints of discrimination (made in March 2012). The Employment Tribunal rejected Ms Lambert’s claims of discrimination and victimisation and, with respect to the victimisation claim, held that the reason that Ms Lambert had been subjected to a disciplinary process and given the final written warning was not because of the complaints of discrimination that she had made but because of her ‘wilful unmanageability’.

Ms Lambert appealed against the decision of the Employment Tribunal, arguing that the decision misapplied the law and failed to give sufficient reasons.

The Employment Appeal Tribunal, chaired by HHJ Peter Clark, dismissed Ms Lambert’s appeal, holding that the Employment Tribunal had found that the sole reason for the disciplinary proceedings was Ms Lambert’s perceived unmanageability, and that this was therefore not a case were there were ‘mixed motives’. The Employment Appeal Tribunal also held that the Employment Tribunal had sufficiently explained the “reason why” Ms Lambert had been subjected to disciplinary proceedings: the Tribunal had rejected Ms Lambert’s case that her complaints of discrimination were the reason for the disciplinary proceedings and had found that her perceived unmanageability was the reason for such.

Chris Hadrill, a specialist employment solicitor, commented on the case: “In victimisation cases claimants often struggle to show that the ‘reason why’ they have been subjected to a detriment is a complaint of discrimination rather than an unrelated, benign reason. This was the case in this instance – Ms Lambert failed in her claims because the Tribunal found that the reason for the conduct complained of was unrelated to her complaints.”

About

Redmans Employment Team deal with employment matters for both employers and employees, including drafting employment contracts and policies, advising employers and employees on compromise agreements, handling day-to-day HR issues, advising on restructures, and handling Employment Tribunal cases for both employers and employees Call 020 3397 3603 to speak to one of the members of our employment team or email us on enquiries@redmans.co.uk. Redmans have offices in Richmond, Chiswick, Hammersmith, Fulham, Kingston, Wimbledon, Ealing, Kings Cross and Marylebone (meetings strictly by appointment only).

Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

Share →

Our awards

Request a callback

Your first name (required)

Your last name (required)

Your email (required)

Your telephone number (required)

Brief details of your enquiry

Contact us

Please feel free to discuss your own position and concerns. Contact your nearest office on:

T: 020 3397 3603
E: enquiries@redmans.co.uk
W: www.redmans.co.uk

Testimonials

4.77 Average

205 Reviews

Gary P

All good advice, prompt and efficient

Posted 6 hours ago

Anonymous

Excellent advice and customer service.

Posted 1 month ago

Aneet G

I would definitely recommend Redmans. Very impressed with service provided. They were extremely proactive in handling my case which made things easier for me. Provided sound advice and resolution. Special credit for this goes to Chris who dealt with my case with great determination and consideration.

Posted 1 month ago

Fern M

Very efficient and friendly

Posted 1 month ago

Neville S

A professional and friendly service, which I would highly recommend.

Posted 1 month ago

Daniel T

Extremely helpful and made a bad situation much more manageable. Where other solicitors seemed disinterested in my situation Redmans immediately made me feel like it was a team effort to achieve a more favourable outcome

Posted 1 month ago

Paul T

Excellent, quick and informative. Chris was a real star and gave me confidence during the uncertainty if a redundancy settlement.

Posted 1 month ago

Marina E

Felt in very capable hands was listened to and given excellent advice. Would not hesitate to recomend and use again if needed.

Posted 1 month ago

Rosa B

Fabulous service all round.

Posted 1 month ago

Anonymous

Redmans were quick to respond to my enquiry and dealt with my case professionally and personably. I received sound advice and was put at ease by Chris Hadrill, Partner.

Posted 1 month ago

Alkhas K

Excellent service.

Posted 1 month ago

Mathias G

Contacted them regarding my end of employment agreement. Chris Hadrill dealt with it and was done and handed back to employer same day more than happy with there service.

Posted 2 months ago

Mark W

Most professional from start to finish offering very a personal service. Most impressive and quick when dealing with the matters in hand.

Posted 3 months ago

Anonymous

Posted 3 months ago

submit

I am very glad I came across Redmans Solicitors. Fantastic service!

Posted 3 months ago

Anonymous

Fantastic communication, always happy to answer queries, highly recommended.

Posted 3 months ago

Wavenie B

They were very straight to the point, friendly and understanding people. I felt they had my best interest. They were easy to get hold of, replies were almost instant. 5/5 for customer service

Posted 3 months ago

Christina P

Caroline was fantastic to work with - extremely knowledgeable, supportive, thorough and honest. I definitely recommend Redmans!

Posted 3 months ago

Anonymous

Very well done and fast support. Professional and reliable. Highly recommended!

Posted 3 months ago

Helene L

They were very knowledgable in the respected area in terms of change in law/regulations that is crucial for the clients who are seeking for legal arvice.

Posted 3 months ago

Sara R

Very helpful and wonderful advice

Posted 3 months ago