Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

In the case of Lambert v The Secretary of State for the Home Department UKEAT/0074/16/BA the Employment Appeal Tribunal (“EAT”) held that the Employment Tribunal had not erred in finding the reason for an employee’s dismissal was not a complaint that she had made but her ‘wilful unmanageability’.

Ms Lambert was employed by the Home Office as a presenting officer, presenting cases on behalf of the Home Office in various tribunals (including the First-Tier Immigration Tribunal). Ms Lambert submitted two complaints on 14 and 16 March 2012, arguing that any failure by the Home Office to allow her request to work at offices in Angel Square for childcare reasons would amount to race discrimination and sex discrimination. Ms Lambert’s request was refused. In the summer of 2012 Ms Lambert’s line manager, Ms Crowe, was finding Ms Lambert difficult to manage. Mr Nickell was therefore appointed to investigate the allegations against Ms Lambert and to produce a report, which he did on 15 February 2013.

On 1 May 2013 Mr Ferguson, who had succeeded Ms Crowe as Ms Lambert’s line manager, held a misconduct meeting with Ms Lambert. Mr Ferguson concluded that Ms Lambert had bullied and harassed colleagues, and that she had sent intimidating emails to colleagues. On the basis of these findings Mr Ferguson imposed a final written warning. Ms Lambert appealed against the final written warning but the  appeal was dismissed on 15 January 2014.

Ms Lambert brought claims for discrimination and victimisation in the Employment Tribunal, arguing (among other things) that she had been subjected to the detriment of the final written warning because of her complaints of discrimination (made in March 2012). The Employment Tribunal rejected Ms Lambert’s claims of discrimination and victimisation and, with respect to the victimisation claim, held that the reason that Ms Lambert had been subjected to a disciplinary process and given the final written warning was not because of the complaints of discrimination that she had made but because of her ‘wilful unmanageability’.

Ms Lambert appealed against the decision of the Employment Tribunal, arguing that the decision misapplied the law and failed to give sufficient reasons.

The Employment Appeal Tribunal, chaired by HHJ Peter Clark, dismissed Ms Lambert’s appeal, holding that the Employment Tribunal had found that the sole reason for the disciplinary proceedings was Ms Lambert’s perceived unmanageability, and that this was therefore not a case were there were ‘mixed motives’. The Employment Appeal Tribunal also held that the Employment Tribunal had sufficiently explained the “reason why” Ms Lambert had been subjected to disciplinary proceedings: the Tribunal had rejected Ms Lambert’s case that her complaints of discrimination were the reason for the disciplinary proceedings and had found that her perceived unmanageability was the reason for such.

Chris Hadrill, a specialist employment solicitor, commented on the case: “In victimisation cases claimants often struggle to show that the ‘reason why’ they have been subjected to a detriment is a complaint of discrimination rather than an unrelated, benign reason. This was the case in this instance – Ms Lambert failed in her claims because the Tribunal found that the reason for the conduct complained of was unrelated to her complaints.”

About

Redmans Employment Team deal with employment matters for both employers and employees, including drafting employment contracts and policies, advising employers and employees on compromise agreements, handling day-to-day HR issues, advising on restructures, and handling Employment Tribunal cases for both employers and employees Call 020 3397 3603 to speak to one of the members of our employment team or email us on enquiries@redmans.co.uk. Redmans have offices in Richmond, Chiswick, Hammersmith, Fulham, Kingston, Wimbledon, Ealing, Kings Cross and Marylebone (meetings strictly by appointment only).

Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

Share →

Our awards

Request a callback

    Your first name (required)

    Your last name (required)

    Your email (required)

    Your telephone number (required)

    Brief details of your enquiry

    Contact us

    Please feel free to discuss your own position and concerns. Contact your nearest office on:

    T: 020 3397 3603
    E: enquiries@redmans.co.uk
    W: www.redmans.co.uk

    Testimonials

    4.76 Average

    235 Reviews

    Paul O

    Chris & Rana guided me through a redundancy discussion. Prompt & patient assistance with the documents & meetings. Clear advice & fast responses regarding negotiations. Would definitely recommend & would use again without hesitation.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Outstanding, efficient service. Thank you so much!

    Posted 1 month ago

    Jaswant S

    Very very happy with the good service I got Thank you so much for your help

    Posted 1 month ago

    Mel and Chris were fantastic and supportive throughout! 1000% recommend.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Emma D

    Good responsive service

    Posted 1 month ago

    Mike T

    Good efficient service.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Brenda G

    Very professional and helpful

    Posted 1 month ago

    Charles A

    Chris Hadrill was recommended to me when I found myself in need of a solicitor at very short notice. He contacted me almost immediately to arrange a call. Chris handled my case in a professional and timely manner and kept me notified throughout. Chris inspired confidence and made me feel I was being cared for. If ever I'm in need of legal representation, I would not hesitate to contact Chris. And will gladly recommend him to family and friends.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Rosalind R

    I was very happy with the service that I received from Redmans Solicitors. They were able to advise me accordingly with regards to my employment matter and stay within the agreed costing.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Karl B

    Caroline and Chris were so helpful and friendly. Couldn't of asked for a better service.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Dimitrios P

    Excellent, professional service, in time and within the expected value.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Barbara K

    Everything quickly and fairly. Very professional. Thank you.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Sabrina J

    I received a efficient professional service during the whole process of liasing between myself and my former employer to getting all forms signed and receiving my redundancy payment in full in the summer of this year.

    Posted 1 month ago

    I received legal advice on a redundancy settlement agreement from Redmans Solicitors and was very impressed by the quality of their service. Chris Hadrill is highly experienced in settlement matters and was especially understanding of the particulars of my case, going out of his way to ensure that it was resolved quickly and with the utmost professionalism. I have no hesitation in recommending Redmans to anyone in need of employment advice and settlement resolution.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Excellent service, with full explanations of everything needed. Both Chris and Mel answered all emails very promptly and were personable and efficient.

    Posted 1 month ago

    I would like to thank Chris Hadrill, in particular who handled my case, for all his hard work, expertise and dedication. He listened with empathy and offered suitable advice, which made me feel valued and confident through a difficult time. I would highly recommend Chris and the team at Redmans Solicitors. Thank you.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Yann G

    Yann Guezennec / Chris Hadrill - Thanks for the detailed, informed and professional advice for my settlement. When comprise is the rule I felt we could have been maybe a bit more aggressive from the start. However an acceptable outcome considering the situation. Thank you

    Posted 1 month ago

    Valentina D

    Great service from Mel, she was very good at explaining every part of the settlement agreement and very efficient dealing with the HR team. Very professional team, I would definitely use them again in future if the opportunity came up.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Olaf S

    I was very happy with the service that I have received. Thank You Regards

    Posted 1 month ago

    Rebecca A

    I had a wonderful solicitor called Caroline who was so helpful and gave me all the information I need and explained everything in detail so I was crystal clear. Would highly recommend if you are in need of a solicitor!

    Posted 1 month ago

    Gareth J

    Very efficient, helpful and pragmatic support from Caroline. Happy to work with my requirements / suggestions but also made some very good points which helped to achieve a higher settlement amount. Would highly recommend Caroline and Chris.

    Posted 1 month ago