Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

In the case of Miss HL Cunningham v A Oasis Cars Ltd and Ibrar Hussain (ET/2600283/2018) the Employment Tribunal held that an employee had been subjected to sexual harassment after she was subjected to her leg being stroked by a colleague.

The facts in Cunningham v A Oasis Cars Ltd and Ibrar Hussain

Miss HL Cunningham (the “Claimant”) commenced employment with A Oasis Cars Ltd, a taxi business (the “First Respondent) in around May 2017.  Mr I Hussain, the Managing Director (the “Second Respondent”) was also named in the claim.

The claimant’s employment began at the latest in May 2017. She worked as a base controller out of the first respondent’s office in Ashfield. She did various shifts on various days, but latterly worked almost exclusively on Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday nights, doing 16 hours or so per week. This was to fit in with her domestic arrangements as she was a single parent of 3 children which usually prevented her from working at weekends, particularly during the day.

This case concerns an allegation that whilst working a Tuesday to Wednesday night shift around 7pm, the Claimant was sexually assaulted by the joint owner of the first Respondent one of the first respondent’s drivers, a shareholder in the first respondent, and the second respondent’s business partner, Mr Reza Choudhary (referred to as “Mr R” in the Tribunal judgement).  Mr R sexually assaulted her by stroking her leg and grabbing her backside.

She had complained to the second Respondent about Mr R but the second Respondent did nothing about her allegation in terms of investigating the allegation.  Around 29 January 2018, the second Respondent told the claimant by telephone that she was going to have to work with Mr R on the night shift from 30 to 31 January 2018. This was despite him having previously told her that she would not have to work with him. The previous occasion when he told her she would not have to work with Mr R was around the start of January, when she raised her concerns about him with the second respondent at work in front of a group of drivers.  Also around 29 or 30 January, the second Respondent gave the Claimant a choice of working with Mr R on a Tuesday and Wednesday, or working with the second Respondent on day shifts on Fridays and Saturdays.

The claimant raised a grievance by letter on 31 January 2018. The second Respondent responded by a letter dated 5 February 2018.

Although it is stated in the second respondent’s letter that he was, “more than happy to offer you the same work which you have been doing”, the letter concludes, “I have decided to offer you work on Fridays and Saturdays”. In light of previous conversations between them, the Claimant understood this to be an offer of day time work on Fridays and Saturdays. The Respondents’ case is that she was offered nightshifts on Fridays, Saturdays and/or Sundays).  

Also in mid to late January 2018, before the weekend of the 27th and the 28th, the claimant went to the police about the alleged sexual assault in December 2017. She was advised to record the telephone calls she made to the second respondent about the situation. The police investigated in late January and early February 2018 and Mr R was interviewed by the police. He was never arrested or charged.

Her contract terminated around February 2018 but it was unclear if this was by mutual agreement or other means. The Claimant subsequently lodged a claim for sexual harassment with the Employment Tribunal (“ET”).

The decision of the Employment Tribunal

The Employment Tribunal found that the Claimant’s allegation that Mr R touched her inappropriately on or about 12 December 2017 was, on the balance of probabilities, true, and this was unwanted conduct on his part. The Employment Tribunal therefore held that the Claimant had been sexually harassed by Mr R, and that the First Respondent was vicariously liable for this.

The Employment Tribunal also held that there had been a breach of the trust and confidence in how the complaint was handled. The choice the Claimant was left to make between working her preferred shifts with Mr R who she had previously accused of sexual harassment, or shifts suiting her circumstances without having to work with Mr R, was considered as conduct that was likely to destroy or seriously damage the relationship of trust and confidence.  The business itself in the form of the First Respondent was in general breach of its `breach and confidence’ term in the employment contract, as well as for the actions of one of its employees in perpetrating the sexual assault. 

The actions of both the First and Second Respondents were found to constitute sexual harassment of the Claimant, contrary to section 26 of the Equality Act 2010.

A remedy hearing was scheduled to take place at a later date (in order to determine compensation).

Our solicitors’ comments on Cunningham v A Oasis Cars Ltd and Ibrar Hussain

Chris Hadrill, the partner in the employment department at Redmans, commented on the case as follows: “It is always good practice for employers to implement training in equality and diversity in the workplace, and for employers to set out policies and prctices

The Respondents in the form of the company and its Managing Director would have benefitted for the existence of a policy with a fair procedure for dealing with complaints of this nature internally that may have avoided escalation to an ET.

The decision (on liability) of the Employment Tribunal in Miss HL Cunningham v A Oasis Cars Ltd and Ibrar Hussain – ET/2600283/2018 can be found here.

About

Redmans Employment Team deal with employment matters for both employers and employees, including drafting employment contracts and policies, advising employers and employees on compromise agreements, handling day-to-day HR issues, advising on restructures, and handling Employment Tribunal cases for both employers and employees Call 020 3397 3603 to speak to one of the members of our employment team or email us on enquiries@redmans.co.uk. Redmans have offices in Richmond, Chiswick, Hammersmith, Fulham, Kingston, Wimbledon, Ealing, Kings Cross and Marylebone (meetings strictly by appointment only).

Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

Share →

Our awards

Request a callback

    Your first name (required)

    Your last name (required)

    Your email (required)

    Your telephone number (required)

    Brief details of your enquiry

    Testimonials

    4.81 Average

    313 Reviews

    Anonymous

    Sacha was very thorough and very helpful, with great advice on when to act and when to wait on my case.

    Posted 3 days ago

    Anonymous

    I have been very pleased with the support I got from Redmans Solicitors on my case with my employer. Caroline has always helped me to put things in perspective and showed me different scenarios ultimately to help me taking the right decision. She was very professional and always available when I needed, and at the same time also emphatic which I found also really important to establish a strong relationship. Will definitely recommend!

    Posted 5 days ago

    Anonymous

    Prompt and efficient response to my enquiries. Excellent negotiating skills with my employer which considerably improved the terms of my settlement agreement.

    Posted 5 days ago

    Anonymous

    Very quick and professional service , Rana was very helpful

    Posted 6 days ago

    James G

    Very professional, knowledgeable and kept me informed at every stage of my case. I would highly recommend Redmans.

    Posted 1 week ago

    Pravina P

    Chris was really good and help solve my issues with current company. I would recommend him to anyone.

    Posted 1 week ago

    Paul L

    Sacha was extremely helpful in my matter. I would not hesitate you use Sacha or Redmonds again. Everyone was very helpful.

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    Monique N

    I had Mel Chin helping me with a settlement and she was very professional and reliable throughout my case. Mel provided me with a good understanding of what was happening and gave suggestions on routes I could take. My case was resolved and closed promptly although the opposing side were very difficult to deal with. A very big thank you to Mel and Chris.

    Posted 2 weeks ago

    Jackie C

    My first ever experience needing the services of a solicitor; cannot speak highly enough of Mel and Chris’s personable, reassuring and straight to the point advice in dealing with my settlement agreement. They put me at ease during an extremely stressful time. I am equally as happy with the outcome, as l am their professional services.

    Posted 3 weeks ago

    ""

    Really happy with the service. All very efficient. Mel rattled through things very fast, however was great whenever I needed to stop and ask a question! Would definitely return to Redmans if I ever needed Legal advice.

    Posted 3 weeks ago

    Peter F

    Very helpful and clear advice, would highly recommend.

    Posted 3 weeks ago

    William A

    Second time I have had to use Redmans. They did not disappoint. They are fast , efficient and friendly. I have already recommended them to friends and colleagues. I hope I dont have to use them again but if I have to , they are the solicitors for me.

    Posted 3 weeks ago

    Fleeta C

    Great service with tantastic communications. The solicitor responsible is extremely knowledgeable and was responsible for bringing a timely and desired solution.

    Posted 3 weeks ago

    Veronica M

    Extremely helpful, starting from a request for advice at very short notice, to dedicating time for me to understand and review all documents thoroughly.

    Posted 4 weeks ago

    Sophie R

    Very efficient and professional service. Chris was very empathetic, knowledgeable and personable. Highly recommended.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Melanie M

    Very happy with the detailed advice provided from Redmans. They also helped me to secure a higher settlement than originally offered by my employer and were extremely diligent. I first spoke with Chris at relatively short notice and then Sacha dealt with my case. Would definitely recommend and use again in the future if needed.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    Redmans helped me with a work related issue, which was resolved quickly and professionally. I would definitely recommend this company.

    Posted 1 month ago

    James F

    Great people, really friendly and professional helped with everything that I needed.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anusha S

    My case was handled by Sacha who was very thorough and helped me to achieve a good outcome with my employer. Sacha was very personal, professional and helped me during quite a stressful time, so I am hugely grateful to her and to Redmans. This was my first time engaging with a law firm so I wasn't sure what to expect but I can definitely say that it was a good experience overall and I ended up better off due to having the help of an experienced and proactive solicitor on my side.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Diane P

    So grateful that I contacted Redmans to deal with my Redundancy Agreement. Everything from the initial call to the completion of the matter was professional, efficient and effective. I was listened to, had everything explained simply and kept informed of every step. I received super advice and the costs were very competitive. I would highly recommend them to anyone seeking similar help. First class service - thank you

    Posted 1 month ago

    Chris L

    It was a very efficient and effective service - Would recommend.

    Posted 1 month ago