Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

In the case of Miss HL Cunningham v A Oasis Cars Ltd and Ibrar Hussain (ET/2600283/2018) the Employment Tribunal held that an employee had been subjected to sexual harassment after she was subjected to her leg being stroked by a colleague.

The facts in Cunningham v A Oasis Cars Ltd and Ibrar Hussain

Miss HL Cunningham (the “Claimant”) commenced employment with A Oasis Cars Ltd, a taxi business (the “First Respondent) in around May 2017.  Mr I Hussain, the Managing Director (the “Second Respondent”) was also named in the claim.

The claimant’s employment began at the latest in May 2017. She worked as a base controller out of the first respondent’s office in Ashfield. She did various shifts on various days, but latterly worked almost exclusively on Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday nights, doing 16 hours or so per week. This was to fit in with her domestic arrangements as she was a single parent of 3 children which usually prevented her from working at weekends, particularly during the day.

This case concerns an allegation that whilst working a Tuesday to Wednesday night shift around 7pm, the Claimant was sexually assaulted by the joint owner of the first Respondent one of the first respondent’s drivers, a shareholder in the first respondent, and the second respondent’s business partner, Mr Reza Choudhary (referred to as “Mr R” in the Tribunal judgement).  Mr R sexually assaulted her by stroking her leg and grabbing her backside.

She had complained to the second Respondent about Mr R but the second Respondent did nothing about her allegation in terms of investigating the allegation.  Around 29 January 2018, the second Respondent told the claimant by telephone that she was going to have to work with Mr R on the night shift from 30 to 31 January 2018. This was despite him having previously told her that she would not have to work with him. The previous occasion when he told her she would not have to work with Mr R was around the start of January, when she raised her concerns about him with the second respondent at work in front of a group of drivers.  Also around 29 or 30 January, the second Respondent gave the Claimant a choice of working with Mr R on a Tuesday and Wednesday, or working with the second Respondent on day shifts on Fridays and Saturdays.

The claimant raised a grievance by letter on 31 January 2018. The second Respondent responded by a letter dated 5 February 2018.

Although it is stated in the second respondent’s letter that he was, “more than happy to offer you the same work which you have been doing”, the letter concludes, “I have decided to offer you work on Fridays and Saturdays”. In light of previous conversations between them, the Claimant understood this to be an offer of day time work on Fridays and Saturdays. The Respondents’ case is that she was offered nightshifts on Fridays, Saturdays and/or Sundays).  

Also in mid to late January 2018, before the weekend of the 27th and the 28th, the claimant went to the police about the alleged sexual assault in December 2017. She was advised to record the telephone calls she made to the second respondent about the situation. The police investigated in late January and early February 2018 and Mr R was interviewed by the police. He was never arrested or charged.

Her contract terminated around February 2018 but it was unclear if this was by mutual agreement or other means. The Claimant subsequently lodged a claim for sexual harassment with the Employment Tribunal (“ET”).

The decision of the Employment Tribunal

The Employment Tribunal found that the Claimant’s allegation that Mr R touched her inappropriately on or about 12 December 2017 was, on the balance of probabilities, true, and this was unwanted conduct on his part. The Employment Tribunal therefore held that the Claimant had been sexually harassed by Mr R, and that the First Respondent was vicariously liable for this.

The Employment Tribunal also held that there had been a breach of the trust and confidence in how the complaint was handled. The choice the Claimant was left to make between working her preferred shifts with Mr R who she had previously accused of sexual harassment, or shifts suiting her circumstances without having to work with Mr R, was considered as conduct that was likely to destroy or seriously damage the relationship of trust and confidence.  The business itself in the form of the First Respondent was in general breach of its `breach and confidence’ term in the employment contract, as well as for the actions of one of its employees in perpetrating the sexual assault. 

The actions of both the First and Second Respondents were found to constitute sexual harassment of the Claimant, contrary to section 26 of the Equality Act 2010.

A remedy hearing was scheduled to take place at a later date (in order to determine compensation).

Our solicitors’ comments on Cunningham v A Oasis Cars Ltd and Ibrar Hussain

Chris Hadrill, the partner in the employment department at Redmans, commented on the case as follows: “It is always good practice for employers to implement training in equality and diversity in the workplace, and for employers to set out policies and prctices

The Respondents in the form of the company and its Managing Director would have benefitted for the existence of a policy with a fair procedure for dealing with complaints of this nature internally that may have avoided escalation to an ET.

The decision (on liability) of the Employment Tribunal in Miss HL Cunningham v A Oasis Cars Ltd and Ibrar Hussain – ET/2600283/2018 can be found here.

About

Redmans Employment Team deal with employment matters for both employers and employees, including drafting employment contracts and policies, advising employers and employees on compromise agreements, handling day-to-day HR issues, advising on restructures, and handling Employment Tribunal cases for both employers and employees Call 020 3397 3603 to speak to one of the members of our employment team or email us on enquiries@redmans.co.uk. Redmans have offices in Richmond, Chiswick, Hammersmith, Fulham, Kingston, Wimbledon, Ealing, Kings Cross and Marylebone (meetings strictly by appointment only).

Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

Share →

Our awards

Request a callback

    Your first name (required)

    Your last name (required)

    Your email (required)

    Your telephone number (required)

    Brief details of your enquiry

    Contact us

    Please feel free to discuss your own position and concerns. Contact your nearest office on:

    T: 020 3397 3603
    E: enquiries@redmans.co.uk
    W: www.redmans.co.uk

    Testimonials

    4.78 Average

    269 Reviews

    Sue W

    The people at Redmans talk to you with respect and make you feel like they take your situation personal. They clearly care and are extremely professional. I have recommended Redmans to many people.

    Posted 4 days ago

    Anonymous

    Redmans Solicitors were consistently prompt, efficient and professional from the start of my reaching out to them for support in relation to contentious negotiations of an employment matter that continued for almost two months resulting in a positive settlement agreement. Chris Hadrill was diligent, thorough, empathetic and objective in his advice and guidance, showing deep and broad knowledge of the law and legal processes plus extensive practical experience in handling complex matters, resulting in clear and pragmatic advice in ambiguous circumstances that resulted in a very good outcome. I fully recommend Chris Hadrill and Redmans Solicitors! I have made this review anonymous purely because of the confidentiality obligations in the settlement agreement concluded.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Michelle W

    Redmans solicitors provided legal support and advice for a settlement agreement. Excellent customer service, very professional. The senior associate solicitor kept me updated throughout the process, showed empathy and the agreement was signed-off / completed within the agreed timeline.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Mark W

    Redmans Solicitors were extremely professional and helpful! Chris Hadrill handled my case and was an amazing help! His guidance, advice and understanding to my redundancy settlement were always clear, concise and very helpful and I am very grateful to him, and glad I found Redmans to help with my settlement. I highly recommend them!

    Posted 1 month ago

    Alison M

    Very happy with the advice I received

    Posted 1 month ago

    Margaret A

    I found everything about the company to be extremely professional and efficient. During my initial contact with Chris, he listened well and was reassuring, so I felt confident that my case would be well handled. Caroline was excellent at explaining all the legal points and answering my questions, as well as being very supportive and understanding throughout the process. I would definitely recommend this company.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Sanja K

    Very efficient and professional service.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    I found the advice I was given by Redmans Solicitors to be clear and useful and found the solicitor on my case to be both knowledgeable and approachable.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Karen T

    Great service. Thank you.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    Excellent service from Chris & Mel Chin. The best outcome was achieved from the redundancy process. They were extremely thorough, listened carefully and acted swiftly on my behalf. I highly recommend Redmans Solicitors

    Posted 1 month ago

    Shanine M

    Excellent service, thank you so much!

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    I found Caroline and Chris very Helpful and provided excellent service. Caroline especially provided great legal advice and made me feel at ease with the whole process. I would highly recommend them. Thank you!

    Posted 1 month ago

    Gayle B

    Excellent company very professional would definitely recommend

    Posted 1 month ago

    Alex K

    Redmans provided an excellent service, timely and effective. Will definitely recommend.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    Great job done on my employment law

    Posted 1 month ago

    Dominica S

    Caroline & Chris were very prompt and efficient.Very happy with the service and will definitely recommend Redmans Solicitor to everyone !

    Posted 1 month ago

    Sandra K

    If you are looking for a group of solicitors who are Professional, Caring and on point, then look no futher than Redmans. I was literally hand held through out my case. Can not find fault with this company, very happy with the result and the service i received. Would highly recommend Redmans.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    I found dealing with Redmans a pleasure. I got to speak to someone quickly, the advice was profferred promplty and the service was not 'pushy'. In addition, the administration was excellent. What more could you ask for?

    Posted 1 month ago

    ALISDAIR L

    Redmans did a brilliant job regarding my redundancy agreement. I miss read an extra charge which wasnt the case so doing a new review to clarify. I would recommend Redmans for any employment law issues you may have.

    Posted 2 months ago

    Christos G

    Great legal advice and quick correspondence. Very supportive and helpful through the entire process. Thank you Redmans!

    Posted 2 months ago

    Anonymous

    Chris Hadrill advised me on a redundancy settlement agreement. He was very responsive, easy to deal with and gave me good advice at a stressful time.

    Posted 2 months ago