Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

In the case of Ms E Osei v Basildon and Thurrock University Hospital NHS Trust ET/3201328/2017 & 3200136/2018, the Claimant was a nurse of Black African descent who brought a claim in the Employment Tribunal for amongst other complaints, race discrimination. She was not successful in any of the grounds of complaint except that of victimization.

The facts in Ms E Osei v Basildon and Thurrock University Hospital NHS Trust

The Clamant was employed by the Respondent from 11 January 2016 as a nurse working in the Respondent’s Recovery Unit, caring for patients who were recovering after surgery and anesthesia as well as intensive care patients. The Recovery Unit had staff from a diverse racial background: black African, white and Indian.

After about six months of working in the Unit, the Claimant made allegations of race discrimination against her managers although these specific claims were withdrawn by the Claimant at the Employment Tribunal (ET) hearing.

On 5 June 2017, a 93-year-old patient who had undergone surgery in the care of Dr Sharma, an anaesthetist, was admitted and was allocated to the Claimant for post-surgery recovery.  The Claimant became concerned at the patient’s low blood pressure and texted Dr Sharma to this effect. Dr Sharma considered that the patient was ready to be discharged from the Recovery Unit to the ward as his blood pressure had been low before the operation. No witnesses were able to confirm the exchange between Dr Sharma and the Claimant but the latter claimed that the former had said “I am not here to make you happy”. According to the Claimant, Dr Sharma then telephoned the ward to explain why he felt a transfer was acceptable in this case; he conveyed the concerns of the Claimant but then uttered according to the Claimant, to the person at the other end of the phone: “We clinicians treat a patient as a whole and not just numbers. Monkeys treat numbers and we treat patients”.

On that day, 5 June 2017, the Claimant emailed the Sister of the ward and complained that Dr Sharma had been referring in a derogatory way to her via this phone call. On the morning of 6 June 2017, Dr Sharma discovered that his advice had been contradicted and the patient in question had been given fluids to improve his blood pressure and that this had caused complications.

The Claimant’s emails were forwarded to Mrs Archer, HR Resources manager, who organized an informal meeting. At that meeting, Dr Sharma apologized to the Claimant explaining that the comment about the monkey had been referring to an Indian parable and had had nothing to do with the Claimant’s race. The Claimant refused to accept this apology and after further pressure from another member of staff at the hospital, she refused a written apology from Dr Sharma as well. The Claimant also reported that she had been told to reflect on her own behaviour.

The Claimant then submitted a formal grievance against Dr Sharma in July 2017 and a case investigator was appointed. The Claimant was off work for 18 days in August due to stress caused by raising the grievance. On 11 September 2017, the Claimant was invited to a sickness review meeting and it was noted that she had not been attending working for that period of time. She was offered a transfer but she refused. The meeting culminated with her being issued a Stage 1 written warning concerning her attendance levels.

Following the meeting, the Claimant wrote to the Sister of her ward, explaining that she felt that she had been unfairly treated and that the Respondent at the meeting had failed to give consideration to her medical reports of stress causing her absences. An incident subsequently occurred, involving the Claimant being chided for taking an overlong tea break. On 17 September 2017, the Claimant had a meeting with representatives of the Respondent, who discussed other employment on grounds of health and suggested a transfer. The Claimant agreed to this and joined the Urology department. However, her time here did not go well and she was criticised by other staff on that ward for her vocal behaviour.

The Claimant complained and had a meeting on 29 September 2017 with the Respondent to discuss further redeployment possibilities. The Claimant chose to work in theatre recovery but emphasized that she considered that she had done nothing wrong in the first place to merit such moves. The Claimant was not given the opportunity to work in her chosen area and on 18 October 2017, she resigned claiming constructive dismissal and claiming that she had been subject to bullying.

Meanwhile, on 22 December 2017, Dr Sharma was invited to a disciplinary hearing to respond to allegations of the nature of the language that he used. As a result of this hearing, Dr Sharma was informed that the allegations were upheld against him and he was given a final written warning.

Decision of the Employment Tribunal (ET)

The ET considered the various heads of claim that the Claimant had brought and the legal test required to meet them. Her victimization complaint had been brought out of time.

The ET dismissed her complaints of direct race discrimination and harassment and constructive unfair dismissal but they did allow the claim of victimization. In terms of the latter the ET considered that the Respondent’s behaviour towards the Claimant was influenced by the fact that she had made a complaint about Dr Sharma.

Our solicitors’ views on the case of in Ms E Osei v Basildon and Thurrock University Hospital NHS Trust

Caroline Lewis, specialist employment lawyer at Redmans Solicitors, made the following comment on the case: “An employer has a responsibility to ensure that a person is not victimised, or treated unfavourably, because he or she has made a complaint or supported another person to make a complaint. This is the case even if that complaint is not upheld either by an organisation’s internal mechanism or at a Tribunal”.

The decision of the Employment Tribunal in Ms E Osei v Basildon and Thurrock University Hospital NHS Trust 3201328/2017 & 3200136/2018 can be found here.

About

Redmans Employment Team deal with employment matters for both employers and employees, including drafting employment contracts and policies, advising employers and employees on compromise agreements, handling day-to-day HR issues, advising on restructures, and handling Employment Tribunal cases for both employers and employees Call 020 3397 3603 to speak to one of the members of our employment team or email us on enquiries@redmans.co.uk. Redmans have offices in Richmond, Chiswick, Hammersmith, Fulham, Kingston, Wimbledon, Ealing, Kings Cross and Marylebone (meetings strictly by appointment only).

Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

Share →

Our awards

Request a callback

    Your first name (required)

    Your last name (required)

    Your email (required)

    Your telephone number (required)

    Brief details of your enquiry

    Contact us

    Please feel free to discuss your own position and concerns. Contact your nearest office on:

    T: 020 3397 3603
    E: enquiries@redmans.co.uk
    W: www.redmans.co.uk

    Testimonials

    4.76 Average

    235 Reviews

    Paul O

    Chris & Rana guided me through a redundancy discussion. Prompt & patient assistance with the documents & meetings. Clear advice & fast responses regarding negotiations. Would definitely recommend & would use again without hesitation.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    Outstanding, efficient service. Thank you so much!

    Posted 1 month ago

    Jaswant S

    Very very happy with the good service I got Thank you so much for your help

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    Mel and Chris were fantastic and supportive throughout! 1000% recommend.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Emma D

    Good responsive service

    Posted 1 month ago

    Mike T

    Good efficient service.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Brenda G

    Very professional and helpful

    Posted 1 month ago

    Charles A

    Chris Hadrill was recommended to me when I found myself in need of a solicitor at very short notice. He contacted me almost immediately to arrange a call. Chris handled my case in a professional and timely manner and kept me notified throughout. Chris inspired confidence and made me feel I was being cared for. If ever I'm in need of legal representation, I would not hesitate to contact Chris. And will gladly recommend him to family and friends.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Rosalind R

    I was very happy with the service that I received from Redmans Solicitors. They were able to advise me accordingly with regards to my employment matter and stay within the agreed costing.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Karl B

    Caroline and Chris were so helpful and friendly. Couldn't of asked for a better service.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Dimitrios P

    Excellent, professional service, in time and within the expected value.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Barbara K

    Everything quickly and fairly. Very professional. Thank you.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Sabrina J

    I received a efficient professional service during the whole process of liasing between myself and my former employer to getting all forms signed and receiving my redundancy payment in full in the summer of this year.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    I received legal advice on a redundancy settlement agreement from Redmans Solicitors and was very impressed by the quality of their service. Chris Hadrill is highly experienced in settlement matters and was especially understanding of the particulars of my case, going out of his way to ensure that it was resolved quickly and with the utmost professionalism. I have no hesitation in recommending Redmans to anyone in need of employment advice and settlement resolution.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    Excellent service, with full explanations of everything needed. Both Chris and Mel answered all emails very promptly and were personable and efficient.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Anonymous

    I would like to thank Chris Hadrill, in particular who handled my case, for all his hard work, expertise and dedication. He listened with empathy and offered suitable advice, which made me feel valued and confident through a difficult time. I would highly recommend Chris and the team at Redmans Solicitors. Thank you.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Yann G

    Yann Guezennec / Chris Hadrill - Thanks for the detailed, informed and professional advice for my settlement. When comprise is the rule I felt we could have been maybe a bit more aggressive from the start. However an acceptable outcome considering the situation. Thank you

    Posted 1 month ago

    Valentina D

    Great service from Mel, she was very good at explaining every part of the settlement agreement and very efficient dealing with the HR team. Very professional team, I would definitely use them again in future if the opportunity came up.

    Posted 1 month ago

    Olaf S

    I was very happy with the service that I have received. Thank You Regards

    Posted 1 month ago

    Rebecca A

    I had a wonderful solicitor called Caroline who was so helpful and gave me all the information I need and explained everything in detail so I was crystal clear. Would highly recommend if you are in need of a solicitor!

    Posted 1 month ago

    Gareth J

    Very efficient, helpful and pragmatic support from Caroline. Happy to work with my requirements / suggestions but also made some very good points which helped to achieve a higher settlement amount. Would highly recommend Caroline and Chris.

    Posted 1 month ago