Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

unison-logo

UNISON released a press release yesterday confirming that they are lodging an application in the High Court for judicial review of the impending Employment Tribunal fees

It was confirmed yesterday that UNISON was seeking to combat the Government’s plans to introduce fees for users of the Employment Tribunal and the Employment Appeals Tribunal in July 2013. The Government is seeking to introduce standard fees on 29 July 2013 for Claimants and Appellants to lodge claims in the Employment Tribunal and appeal decisions to the Employment Appeals Tribunal. UNISON is objecting to these fees as it believes they are contrary to the principle of access to justice and in breach of EU law.

UNISON’s legal arguments for the judicial review are as follows:

  1. Employment Tribunal fees would make it impossible or excessively difficult to exercise individual rights conferred by European Community law and that reasonable people would not litigate to vinidivate their EU rights in such circumstances
  2. That introducing fees for the Employment Tribunal and not for the First-Tier Tribunal (a Tribunal concerned with asylum and immigration rights) breaches the principle of equivalence
  3. There has been no proper assessment of the Public Sector Equality Duty – such an assessment should have been made to judge the potentially adverse effect of introducing fees in terms of the numbers and proportions of claims brought by individuals with protected characteristics
  4. That the fees are indirectly discriminatory – that such fees will have a disproportionate adverse impact on women

Dave Prentis, General Secretary of UNISON, commented that “The Government should not put a price on justice – that is why UNISON is calling for a Judicial Review.   These charges are a blatant attempt to stop working people from exercising their employment rights.  It will give unscrupulous employers the green light to ride roughshod over employees’ already very basic, rights at work.”

Chris Hadrill, employment solicitor at Redmans, commented on the application: “This is a case to watch. If UNISON succeeds in its application for judicial review then this could put a serious spoke in the wheels of the Government’s drive to cut ‘red tape’ and reduce the number of Employment Tribunal claims.”

Redmans Solicitors are specialist employment solicitors. Please contact Redmans  Solicitors if you have an enquiry related to employment law or partnership law.

Photo: UNISON’s logo

About Chris Hadrill

Chris is a specialist employment lawyer at Redmans. He specialises in contentious and non-contentious employment matters, including breach of contract claims, compromise agreements and Employment Tribunal cases. He writes on employment law matters on a variety of websites, including Direct 2 Lawyers, Lawontheweb.co.uk, LegalVoice, the Justice Gap and his own blog. Contact Chris by emailing him at chadrill@redmans.co.uk

Tagged with →  

Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

Share →

Our awards

Request a callback

Your name

Your email

Your telephone number

Contact us

Please feel free to discuss your own position and concerns. Contact your nearest office on:

T: 020 3397 3603
E: enquiries@redmans.co.uk
W: www.redmans.co.uk

Testimonials

4.62 Average

39 Reviews

Katelyn

The solicitor communicated well with me and made sure I understood everything. He did everything needed for my settlement agreement and tried to get the wording changed in my favour too.

Posted 3 days ago

Anonymous

Redmans provided excellent services

Posted 3 days ago

Sibel U

Excellent service

Posted 3 days ago

Peter S

I was very happy with the level of advise I received from Caroline Lewis, and a very professional service fron Chris, The advice given really helped me and I was comfortable to sign the settlement agreement following my redundancy. I would be more than happy to recommend your services to others.

Posted 3 days ago

Derek S

I very much appreciated the help provided by Redmans in the settlement agreement agreed with my former employer.

Posted 4 days ago

Waseem M

It was the first ime I used Redmans Solicitors and to be honest, thety were amazing. Rana Tandon and Chris Hadrill were out of this world. They made the process as simply and smooth as can be. Thank you so much for all your support over the last week.

Posted 2 weeks ago

Anonymous

Worked very quickly considering right deadlines - and gave great advice

Posted 2 weeks ago

Anonymous

Redmans provided me with excellent advice at a very stressful time. The calm, confident and extremely professional manner in which my solicitor handled my case made the issue much easier to deal with and I was very impressed with the level of service I received.

Posted 2 weeks ago

Anonymous

Immediate response to my initial enquiry. Very clear throughout the whole process and thorough and great communication which worked really well during quite a stressful time. Chris Hadrill was extremely helpful and made me feel at ease.

Posted 3 months ago

Nick D

I received a very professional service from Chris. The advice given really helped to leave me comfortable to sign the settlement agreement following my redundancy. Would be happy to recommend your services to others.

Posted 3 months ago

Anonymous

Excellent service from initial contact to deliverables.

Posted 4 months ago

Virginia K

Yes, Chris Hadrill answered all my questions and I feel more confident with my current situation

Posted 4 months ago

Anonymous

Chris Hadrill was referred to me my a friend of mine. I found the service to be efficient, quick and like Chris's direct approach to my work. Well done and thank you Chris!

Posted 4 months ago

Andy W

Very prompt & structured service that helped put my mind at rest at a difficult time

Posted 4 months ago

Anonymous

I have found Redmans to be very helpful, diligant and thoroughly professional when dealing with them, plus they gone that extra mile for me !

Posted 4 months ago

Anonymous

Thank you to Chris Hadrill at Redmans for his assistance in settling my case. I contacted him at the very last minute and he was happy to help me and managed to get everything done on time and in a very professional manner. I will definitely be happy to work with him again .

Posted 4 months ago

Redman's provided excellent legal employment advice for me during a difficult time in my employment. Chris was my lawyer, super efficient, quick, reliable and clearly very experienced in the matter. Could not ask for a better law firm to deal with your query if you are in need of some help. Would definitely use them again in the future. Highly recommending Chris.

Posted 8 months ago

Steven

Chris Hadrill was very professional and responsive. I would highly recommend him

Posted 8 months ago

Dinah

Very Efficient, with very quick email reply’s. I had a matter that needed resolving within a very short space of time and Redmans Solicitors were great with dealing with my matter quickly.

Posted 8 months ago

Ankar

At Redmans the solicitor that was dealing with me was Chris. He dealt with my situation smoothly with clear guidance and explanation

Posted 8 months ago

Anonymous

Clear, concise advice and guidance delivered by an experienced and very capable solicitor, within the timelines required

Posted 9 months ago