Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

In the case of Lambert v The Secretary of State for the Home Department UKEAT/0074/16/BA the Employment Appeal Tribunal (“EAT”) held that the Employment Tribunal had not erred in finding the reason for an employee’s dismissal was not a complaint that she had made but her ‘wilful unmanageability’.

Ms Lambert was employed by the Home Office as a presenting officer, presenting cases on behalf of the Home Office in various tribunals (including the First-Tier Immigration Tribunal). Ms Lambert submitted two complaints on 14 and 16 March 2012, arguing that any failure by the Home Office to allow her request to work at offices in Angel Square for childcare reasons would amount to race discrimination and sex discrimination. Ms Lambert’s request was refused. In the summer of 2012 Ms Lambert’s line manager, Ms Crowe, was finding Ms Lambert difficult to manage. Mr Nickell was therefore appointed to investigate the allegations against Ms Lambert and to produce a report, which he did on 15 February 2013.

On 1 May 2013 Mr Ferguson, who had succeeded Ms Crowe as Ms Lambert’s line manager, held a misconduct meeting with Ms Lambert. Mr Ferguson concluded that Ms Lambert had bullied and harassed colleagues, and that she had sent intimidating emails to colleagues. On the basis of these findings Mr Ferguson imposed a final written warning. Ms Lambert appealed against the final written warning but the  appeal was dismissed on 15 January 2014.

Ms Lambert brought claims for discrimination and victimisation in the Employment Tribunal, arguing (among other things) that she had been subjected to the detriment of the final written warning because of her complaints of discrimination (made in March 2012). The Employment Tribunal rejected Ms Lambert’s claims of discrimination and victimisation and, with respect to the victimisation claim, held that the reason that Ms Lambert had been subjected to a disciplinary process and given the final written warning was not because of the complaints of discrimination that she had made but because of her ‘wilful unmanageability’.

Ms Lambert appealed against the decision of the Employment Tribunal, arguing that the decision misapplied the law and failed to give sufficient reasons.

The Employment Appeal Tribunal, chaired by HHJ Peter Clark, dismissed Ms Lambert’s appeal, holding that the Employment Tribunal had found that the sole reason for the disciplinary proceedings was Ms Lambert’s perceived unmanageability, and that this was therefore not a case were there were ‘mixed motives’. The Employment Appeal Tribunal also held that the Employment Tribunal had sufficiently explained the “reason why” Ms Lambert had been subjected to disciplinary proceedings: the Tribunal had rejected Ms Lambert’s case that her complaints of discrimination were the reason for the disciplinary proceedings and had found that her perceived unmanageability was the reason for such.

Chris Hadrill, a specialist employment solicitor, commented on the case: “In victimisation cases claimants often struggle to show that the ‘reason why’ they have been subjected to a detriment is a complaint of discrimination rather than an unrelated, benign reason. This was the case in this instance – Ms Lambert failed in her claims because the Tribunal found that the reason for the conduct complained of was unrelated to her complaints.”

About

Redmans Employment Team deal with employment matters for both employers and employees, including drafting employment contracts and policies, advising employers and employees on compromise agreements, handling day-to-day HR issues, advising on restructures, and handling Employment Tribunal cases for both employers and employees Call 020 3397 3603 to speak to one of the members of our employment team or email us on enquiries@redmans.co.uk. Redmans have offices in Richmond, Chiswick, Hammersmith, Fulham, Kingston, Wimbledon, Ealing, Kings Cross and Marylebone (meetings strictly by appointment only).

Want to talk to an expert employment law solicitor?

You'll receive a callback from a specialist within an hour

Share →

Our awards

Request a callback

Your name

Your email

Your telephone number

Contact us

Please feel free to discuss your own position and concerns. Contact your nearest office on:

T: 020 3397 3603
E: enquiries@redmans.co.uk
W: www.redmans.co.uk

Testimonials

4.76 Average

124 Reviews

Brittany

I was very grateful for Redmans to treat my case with respect and discretion. At the time, I was very new to London and it was meaningful to have someone on my side and win the case for me. Without any doubt, I would definitely recommend Redmans Solicitors to anyone who is in need of it.

Posted 1 month ago

Jake L

Chris is very professional and calm. Very attentive and patient, been a positive experience having Chris represent me, and would recommend him.

Posted 2 months ago

Anonymous

Excellent service. It was a pleasure to work with Chris H, who is brilliant at what he does and very efficient. Their Senior Associate Rana T. is also very knowledgeable and resolves any queries speedily and efficiently. My issue could unfortunately not be resolved, but that was due to my employer and not the firm. Redmans however did all they could. I would definitely recommend them.

Posted 2 months ago

Anonymous

Very pleasant and quick to deal with. Mnay thanks.

Posted 3 months ago

Anonymous

Easy to get hold of. Quick.

Posted 3 months ago

Owen J

Very helpful, efficient service.

Posted 3 months ago

Anonymous

I am very lucky that I worked with Mr. Chris Hadrill and he managed my case very progressively with an analytical approach and trustfully. Of course with a very positive result. I strongly recommend Mr. Hadrill to any one seeking for a successful result from a highly qualified solicitor.

Posted 3 months ago

Kulbir S

Amazing, quick friendly service from Chris from the start and Caroline. They made me feel at ease during a difficult time, they understood and advised accordingly and I am really happy with the outcome of my case. Will always advise anyone who needs legal advice to contact Redmans, I’m so glad that I did and can confidently say I don’t think any other firm could have handled my case any better. Well done guys, wish you all the best and please keep doing what your doing, simply the best!

Posted 3 months ago

Mark A

Excellent service - rapid and “to the point” advice given to ensure meeting the target time frame

Posted 3 months ago

Anonymous

Chris Hadrill kept me sane during the negotiations with my employer. He was courteous professional and he cared about doing the best he could for me. I will use Redmans again if ever I need an employment solicitor. Excellent service.

Posted 3 months ago

Muhammad Z

Awesome services. Professionals at their best .

Posted 3 months ago

Anonymous

Thanks for the advice and for negotiating a good outcome. Good to have the support at a very stressful time

Posted 3 months ago

Chloe F

My solicitor at Redmans was very helpful and efficient. Really pleased with the smooth service.

Posted 3 months ago

Anonymous

Chris was absolutely excellent. Clear and concise, offering sound advice.

Posted 3 months ago

Tim O

Experienced and competent advisors

Posted 3 months ago

Rachel A

Quick and expert assistance. I would highly recommend Chris for any of your legal needs.

Posted 4 months ago

Joe S

I was very happy with the service provided by Chris and the team at Redmans Solicitors. I felt very comfortable discussing all matters with Chris and am very grateful for all the help and guidance I was given throughout the whole process. I would definitely recommend Redmans Solicitors to friends and family!

Posted 4 months ago

Anonymous

I had a very good experience working with Chris Hadrill during a difficult and emotional time. This held true from the moment I spoke to him on the phone, to the end of the process. Overall, he was attentive, professional and highly supportive. He provided sound advice and clarity. It was the reviews that led me to Redmans! I was very happy to know they were all true. I highly recommend working with Redmans Solicitors. Thank-you to the entire team!

Posted 4 months ago

Anonymous

Good service

Posted 4 months ago

Anonymous

Excellent professional service. Highly recommend.

Posted 4 months ago

Rob O

Very prompt response and I could not fault the service. My solicitor listened carefully to the details of my case and I felt very confident in the advice I was offered. All emails and work done on my behalf with my former employer was of the highest standard and Redmans helped take a lot of the stress out of the situation for me.

Posted 4 months ago